NaPoWriMo 2016 Entry # 18: Morning Hymn

image

A house facing east
Greeted by sunrise like a feast

Before the sky is yellow
The crowing rooster wakes the mellow

A familiar voice crawls in the room
A voice so known since the days in the womb

Hear the morning hymn begins at dawn
A call to a solemn worship where everyone is drawn

Pray from the heart and pray for the soul
Hear mother say “God is in control”

 

The prompt for the day 18 of NaPoWriMo is to write about the sound of home from childhood. Honestly, I thought I would find it as one of the easiest prompts but I was surprised to find out how hard it is for me. I ended up writing about a small part of how my morning went as a child and the things I hear the moment I open my eyes. As I was writing this, I realized how unready I am to go back to those days, the days I longed to reexperience again but are repressed in the deepest part of my memories.

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 2016 Entry # 18: Morning Hymn

Leave a Reply

