NaPoWriMo 2016 Entry # 4

It’s the day 4 of NaPoWriMo, and the prompt for today is to write a poem about the cruelest month you can consider. I can’t think of any month that I can say as the cruelest, well for me. So here I go again, tweaking the rules. I just came up with the idea of making my most favorite month, December, the cruelest, but from the perspective of a child.

In the Philippines, during the ‘ber’ months you will see an increase of street children asking for alms even in the middle of highways. Since I work with these type of children I know that they’re used to looking for their own ways in order to fill their stomach. Even as young as 4 or 5 they’ve been into begging for money or food from others just to survive the day. So I tried to make a poem about how the month of December might be them. I know my work will never be enough to bring about their whole situation, especially during December the merriest month in the Philippines, but I wish to bring up even the smallest glimpse of it.

PW2
only the words are mine but the background photo is from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Street_children

 

*Ninong is the Filipino word for godfather
*Nanay is the Filipino word for mother

4 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 2016 Entry # 4

  1. Your poems are so full of truth and soul. It’s heartbreaking and it really touches you. It is definitely sad but I love the way you weave the truth into words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

